Musings of a Night Person

I am a “Night Person”. There, I have admitted to it.

At birth (or perhaps before) that great Timekeeper messed with my Body Clock. My mornings are everyone else’s evenings. Although I do get up (sometimes very early) it is not because I want to, but because of work I had (have) to. Also, there are times that this is the only moment to do a particular thing. To photograph the dawn in a fog, the mushroom in the morning dew, the deer at the back deck and many other things must be done at dawn or early morning. Also it seems to be the social norm (everyone else does it). My Bride is a Morning Person. Up, chipper and cheerful at the crack of dawn, ready and eager for something new and for whatever the day may hold. It is a wonder we have been able to tolerate each other for so many years.

I on other hand can function: breathe, stand, walk, read, write, chop wood, shovel snow and countless other chores one does in the morning. However I do them on auto-pilot. I know how to do these things. I prepare myself and muscle memory takes over. An Automaton until well after the mid-day meal I respond only to the pre-programmed items in my brain. There a lot of things I can do, but to be quite honest little of it is done with any zeal or with a fully conscious mind until well after 15:00 hrs.

It is only then that I begin the waking process. The Automaton Mode begins shut down and I begin the process and become more aware and awake. That is the time I can start doing things I want to be doing and doing them the way I want to do them. The few drams of creative juices I have start flowing, I get ideas for projects (photography, writing) or I start/continue/finish some existing project.

At that time the rest of the world (including the above mentioned Bride) seems to be shutting down closing their shutters and attempting to make it back to the cocoon of the home and bed.

From now until about dawn I am wanting (perhaps needing is a better word) to be doing, well something. All those things done in Automaton Mode I could be doing now and with gusto! With rest of the world around me going to bed I do not feel it is appropriate of me to start up the chain saw, lawn mower or even the sander to sharpen the kitchen knives and axes, or to shovel the stairs/driveway of snow, or even crank up my favourite album or music DVD. Too dark to do photography unless you are working in a darkroom.

We “Night People” (I am hoping there is another one out there!) are restricted in what we can do by the “9 to 5” society we live in. Our only options seem to be to either take up a job were ‘work’ is done at night or to move out of the tight urban environment and into a derelict factory or the countryside. There, at least, our neighbours who are trying to sleep are far enough away not be disturbed by us doing our chores at night.

Often I have wondered about “Why?” there are folks like me. No real answers come to mind. Perhaps it is just in the genes. I suppose back in the day there needed to be a few of the population who were required to guard the cave. Protecting the more vulnerable and the food stores would have been important to the survival of the ‘tribe’.

The best I can not to allow it to bother me. After all I have made it this far managing and coping with being a Night Person, I suppose I can make it another hundred and sixty years.  😉

6 thoughts on “Musings of a Night Person

  1. I’ve been told over and over that there’s no such thing as a night person throughout my life. Then, a few years ago, they came up with scientific proof that some of us are naturally more acclimatised to the night. We find it easier to be awake later, having trouble getting up in the day and not being able to sleep at night even if exhausted. We think more clearly and are more physically able at night. As I, and I’m sure you, have been insisting to people, we’re just wired that way.

    The fact is that the 9to5 routine that has become standard for most types of work came about to match the daylight cycle, and only a small percentage of people fit perfectly into it. And for those who do, there are an equal amount of people who are completely opposed to it (my own optimum cycle is 8pm to 4am for example). In history this was recognised and a lot of jobs were worked at varying hours, both to suit the person and the job being worked. And then industrialisation began. Suddenly work was no longer tied to the time of day/month/year and workers could just get on with their jobs. This meant that factory bosses were needed to supervise them so the cost of this plus that of running machines meant they tried to tie all workers into the same schedule. Hence the 9to5.

    • “…factory bosses were needed… to tie all workers into the same schedule.”
      Great point! Thus the advent of the modern, hierarchical management/supervisory system.

      • Also the advent of the term “A woman’s place is in the home.” Women didn’t want to go to work in factories that would split them from their kids so women’s rights advocates of the times came up with that phrase as something women could unite around. Apparently they’re still united in their feeling about that phrase now.

  2. In my 20s I tried to switch day fro night, mostly because many of my friends were functioning that way. However, I worked during the day while they were students so my efforts to hang out with them during night gave me suffering during the day as a consequence. I had to give up and find another way, so I did 🙂

  3. I’m a chronic insomniac … It sucks, but I accomplish a lot of things during my lonely nighttime hours that other people don’t have time for. So, like most things, it has a silver lining.

    🙂

    • Agreed… There has been many a night were I got several days work done in a few hours. No distractions and an environment I was comfortable in.
      Only problem was getting up at 05:00 as I still had to get to the office. Yuk 😦

Leave a Reply

